Roberson Cottage, c. 1920
520 East Franklin Street
William S. Roberson was the mayor of Chapel Hill in the 1920s. He is the longest serving board member of Chapel Hill Carrboro City Schools, serving from 1909 to 1935. Roberson Cottage, located at 520 E. Franklin Street, was built around 1920 as a guest house for Roberson’s main home at 516 E. Franklin. The front-gabled bungalow is one of the smaller houses on East Franklin.
The Roberson Cottage was remodeled in 2008 to remove the front porch screen and add a garden window. Although it is smaller than most historic homes in East Franklin-Rosemary National Register Historic District, the picturesque cottage adds to the charm of the collection of homes on Franklin Street.